O2M Day +30, +31: Get Back

Day +30: Watseka, Illinois to Wabash, Indiana

Day: 116 miles

Day +31: Wabash, Indiana to Lima, Ohio

Today: 112.1 miles
Trip: 2478 miles
Avg Speed: 15.0 mph
Pedal Time: 7 hours 26 minutes

Yesterday I was able to fly. The heat wave finally broke and I had favorable winds all day. The land was flat and I got through the rest of Illinois and most of Indiana.

A guy at breakfast was trying to talk to me about the age of cemeteries in he area compared to back east. How ours are so much older. Buddy, I do not care.

The land started to change going from Illinois to Indiana. Very gentle rolling hills came to take over from the flat lands. Still lots of farmlands. The corn is very dry, very short.

I had favorable winds today as well, and I was able to get a good way into Ohio. I was chased by two dogs today. I find the most effective method is my air pump. A two foot long cylinder of metal. Wave it in the air and the dogs know… Metal club = no good. The birds though… I’ve been chased by more birds than I can count. It seems like every other minute one is flying above me squawking and trying to scare me away from their nest. He pump does not work on birds.

I’m so close to being done. I’m going to end my trip in Cumberland, Maryland. I’ll get there by the Great Alleghany Passage, a bike trail from Pittsburgh to Cumberland. I am 262 miles from Pittsburgh, PA (at least by highway). Very much looking forward to when I get home. A cold beer at Brewers. A rack of ribs at Black Hog. Walking to the record and tape traders to see what new vinyls they have. Mountain Biking again. Alive@5 on Thursday nights on the creek. Visiting my barber, Jay. Eating normally again instead of trying to consume every calorie I can. Playing with Little Bruce Pike, pictured here:

20120727-231405.jpg
Having a cup of coffee in the morning. Wearing normal clothes. I’m so close…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to O2M Day +30, +31: Get Back

  1. Mom says:

    Yes you are…..we will see you this week!

  2. Andy Moore says:

    “Buddy, I do not care.”

    I got a pretty good chuckle outta that one. Get home safe man.

  3. stayrxfit says:

    Tan lines are the mark of progress!!!! Great journey. Good stories. You, my friend, are an inspiration. I wish I were in your class this Fall. Louisiana is just a short ride south!!!! Stay safe!

Leave a comment